From the Best New Age Artists

Ed Blumenthal |The Late Train Home | Album Review by Dyan Garris

ThelatetrainhomecoverThe Late Train Home by Ed Blumenthal

Album review by Dyan Garris for Zone Music Reporter and

“Warm and intimate, ‘The Late Train Home’ is a thoughtful, evocative, album that soothes the soul, relaxes the psyche, and gives us pause for deeper reflection upon our journey.”

There are so many windows in life. What we see (or hear) depends upon where we are sitting or where we are looking. Are we looking in or are we looking out? Are we seeing a reflection? A mirror into eternity? Or perhaps we are simply contemplating our journey.

“The Late Train Home” is the solo piano debut of Ed Blumenthal. Ed is a chiropractor, composer, and mostly self-taught pianist. This thoughtful, evocative album is ten heartfelt, relaxing, well-composed tracks that soothe the soul, relax the psyche, and give us pause for deeper reflection upon our journey.  The album has a warm, intimate, authentic feel throughout.

Co-produced by Will Ackerman and Tom Eaton, and mixed and mastered by Tom Eaton, the album was recorded at Will’s legendary recording studio, Imaginary Road Studios. And here we also have a talented group of guest musicians woven into the mix as well.   Charlie Bisharat performs on violin, Eugene Friesen on cello, and we also have the distinctive English horn of Jill Haley.   Too, we have beautiful, ethereal, wordless vocals from Noah Wilding, masterfully mixed in, as well as Premik Russell Tubbs on EWI wind synth. Tom Eaton performs on NS bass and rounding out the mix is Will Ackerman on acoustic guitar on a few of the tracks.

So yes, it’s good. It’s really good. But there are some very interesting elements in here to note. The first is that if you read the song titles in order, they form a theme or “story” that goes something like this:  Who knows the roads imagined? We walk on. The hands we hold along the way. . .The late train home. Always waiting. Until then, the sea sings for us.

“The sea sings for us” is particularly interesting because the song, track 9, “The Sea Sings,” is an improvised piano accompaniment with a recording from a man-made architectural wonder in Zadar, Croatia, called The Zadar Sea Organ. The Sea Organ is a series of marble steps merging the coastal land with the ocean. Underneath is a network of tubes that produce harmonic tones as the sea water does its timeless dance of ebb and flow. Done in one take, this is a beautiful, mesmerizing, unique song. It is quite special, as is the whole album.

The album opens with the very pretty “Who Knows.”  Expressive and emotionally evocative, with piano, cello, and English horn all nicely wrapped in each other’s arms, this is 6 minutes long, setting the tone for all that follows.   The equally pretty, “The Roads Imagined” follows with piano and EWI wind synth dancing elegantly together. “We Walk On” features soothing, wordless vocals, along with English horn, piano, and rich cello. “The Hands We Hold” is a harmonious blend of piano and English horn.

The flowing “Along The Way” brings us further along into the journey. This is a favorite on the album. The violin and piano together are superb. The title track, “The Late Train Home,” is rich and delicious, perfectly capturing the feelings of traveling on the train of life.  It’s contemplative and reflective.  Another favorite is “Always Waiting,” with sweet violin, cello, voice, and Will Ackerman’s guitar all adding luscious layers to this super-relaxing piece.  It’s truly beautiful.  The EWI wind synth and piano are the perfect couple in “Until Then.”  I really love these two instruments together.  Premik Russell Tubbs is a master of this instrument. This is harmonious, melodic, wistful and very nicely composed.

The album closes out with the very beautiful “For Us.”  This has a heavenly quality with Ackerman’s guitar sounding almost harp-like, Tom Eaton’s NS bass adding texture, and the ethereal vocals floating in and out of the dream.  You can feel your stress melting away as you completely zone out.  Very nicely done.


Get “The Late Train Home” here at the artist’s official website: and stream/download online wherever music is sold.

Broadcast and Media Promotion:
LAZZ Promotions, Ed and Stacey Bonk
Voice: 905-470-1230
E-mail: [email protected]

More album reviews by Dyan Garris at Zone Music Reporter: and New Age CD:



Similar posts
  • Suzanne Teng & Gilbert Levy | Au...“Autumn Monsoon” by Suzanne Teng and Gilbert Levy Album Review by Dyan Garris for New Age CD and Zone Music Reporter “‘Autumn Monsoon” is true medicine for the soul.’” – Dyan Garris “Autumn Monsoon,” the newest release from multiple award-winning husband and wife team, Suzanne Teng and Gilbert Levy, features 10 tracks of ethereal, instrumental [...]
  • Dan Chadburn – Love Themes for ...“Love Themes for Solo Piano” by Dan Chadburn Album review by Dyan Garris for New Age CD and Zone Music Reporter The music on “Love Themes for Solo Piano,” is distinctly, unmistakably Dan Chadburn, flowing and sweeping, while exuding rich textures and tender emotion from the heart. – Dyan Garris “Love Themes for Solo Piano” [...]
  • Monica Williams | Within Us All Album...“Within Us All” by Monica Williams Album Review by Dyan Garris for New Age CD  and Zone Music Reporter   “A brilliant, sparkling, soothing, sophomore album from Monica Williams.” – Dyan Garris “Within Us All” is the second album from flutist Monica Williams, following up on her award-winning album, “Journey of Tears.” The album features [...]
  • Gabriele Saro | Sensations Album Revi...“SensationS” by Gabriele Saro Album Review by Dyan Garris, New Age CD, Zone Music Reporter, and “Spirit Seeker Magazine” “SensationS” is the 4th album release from award-winning multi-instrumentalist, Gabriele Saro. Hailing originally from Italy, at the age of 6, Gabriele reproduced on the piano the melodies he heard on television. “SensationS” is 15 tracks of [...]
  • Joss Jaffe | Meditation Music Album R...“Meditation Music” by Joss Jaffe Album Review by Dyan Garris for New Age CD, Zone Music Reporter, and Spirit Seeker Magazine “Meditation Music” is deeply peaceful to the psyche on every level. Very effective for healing and coming back into alignment. – Dyan Garris Joss Jaffe is a vocalist, multi-instrumentalist, and record producer, with a [...]

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply




Dan Palladino | Pastoral Memory

Click the image to listen now


AUM 432 by Paradiso and Rasamayi In the Soft Light of Grace by David Nevue The Winds of Badlands by Jill Haley Cupid Blindfolded by Michael Whalen Open Waters by Todd Mosby Red Sky Prairie by Sharon Fendrich Lightness of Dark by Fiona Joy & Rebecca Daniel Promise by FLOW Voice of the Ancestors by Grayhawk Adrift in Wonder by Robert Linton Agape Evolution: The Movement by Paradiso & Rasamayi Grace from Persistence by Christopher James Quiet-Spaces-Cover-Art-Ann-Licater-1500x1500-300-dpi-JPEG-Final-9-27-18 Reach by Jeff Oster Liquid Mind XII Peace Beautiful You by Matthew Mayer Twilight Serenade by Peter Sterling Mystic's Nine by Dyan Garris Beyond Words by Dan Chadburn Sands of Time by Logical Drift Between Shadow and Light by Neil Patton

Music Video – IMA Award POP VOX Winner – New Age Song Category – “Mystic Sea”

Buying links below: Mystic's Nine album (and for the song Mystic Sea) available here:
  • Amazon
  • iTunes
  • Spotify
  • CDBaby
  • Bandcamp

  • Follow Dyan Garris here:
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram
  • Official Artist Site