From the Best New Age Artists

Flow | Promise Album Review by Dyan Garris

FLOW Promise Cvr emoji RGBFA“Promise” by Flow

Album review by Dyan Garris for New Age CD, Zone Music Reporter, and Spirit Seeker Magazine

“Promise” is more than a soggy expectation. It delivers on every level: Up, down, and sideways. –Dyan Garris


“Promise” is a mesmerizing album collaboration between 4 award-winning musical artists. Flow, the group name, is an acronym of the members, F (Fiona Joy Hawkins), L (Lawrence Blatt), O (Jeff Oster), and W (Will Ackerman).  “Promise,” the group’s second album, is one long seamless, impeccable flow. As Jeff Oster said in a radio interview with Donna Jo Thornton of The Morning Breeze, “’Flow [their debut album] was perfect for wine and cheese. ‘Promise’ is perfect for scotch and prosciutto. It’s more mature.’”

Sounds tasty, indeed, and I agree. There is a smooth, effortless, upscale sophistication about the album. But I think it’s an understatement. “Promise” is more than a soggy expectation. It delivers on every level: Up, down, and sideways. This is 10 tracks of intimate, magical synergy.

Part of the magic here, and what really stands out over any one song on the album, is that none of the group members – each successful in their own right – tries to upstage any of the others. They show up and play as one. Yes, it’s a flow. And an amazing one.

The album features Fiona Joy on piano and wordless vocals, Lawrence Blatt on Acoustic guitar, electric guitar, ukulele and bass, Jeff Oster on trumpet and flugelhorn, and Will Ackerman on guitar. Guest artists are the masterful Jeff Haynes on percussion, Tom Eaton on guitar, bass, keyboards, and accordion. The songs on the album were all co-written by the four group members.

“Promise” opens with the title track. This is light and hypnotic, a glimmering hint of anticipation for the rest of what follows. A relaxing soundscape, “Something On Tuesday” draws us in with its dreamy horns, fanciful piano, and soft guitar. “Adrift At Sea” perfectly captures the feelings of such, and incorporates ocean sounds and sea gulls. It’s great and we’re floating. Very nice. Gentle, nostalgic and reflective, “All These Years” is the perfect blend of lives well lived. Fiona’s wordless vocals are hauntingly perfect and a beautiful match to the very dreamy horns, percussion, piano, and guitars. Lovely.

“Last Light” is super smooth, just as a pastel sunset might be melting over the ocean.  This starts out quietly, then gets lively and up-tempo and we are flowing along with the snazzy and slightly jazzy evening. Great melody, great everything here, and it’s a favorite.  Another mind-sticking melody is found on “Fresh Air.” This is quite relaxing, with an outstanding mix by Tom Eaton (on the whole album as well), and we can feel the soft, fresh breeze on the face. And again, nothing on this album overshadows anything else or anyone else. It’s all a cohesive unit. And that is a breath of fresh air.  

The super sultry signature horns by Jeff Oster lead us languidly into “Nightfall.” Haunting vocals by Fiona Joy add to the intrigue of the night. Very sensuous. “Blue Umbrella” is carefree and ultra-relaxing. “Chasing Secrets” has a kind of jazz feel and sophisticated elegance. Breezy, understated, and flowing, it’s another favorite.  The album closes out with “Memoire du Dome.” Hauntingly beautiful, it’s the perfect close.  But we all look forward to more from the group, Flow.

“Promise” lives up entirely to its name and has a phenomenal flow.  Just the right amount of breathing space in every song – just the right amount of everything – this is an excellent, soul-soothing conversation that will put you in the “zone.”  You will want to get the whole album.  

Get “Promise” here:


Will Ackerman – Guitar
Fiona Joy – Piano, Vocals
Lawrence Blatt – Acoustic & Electric Guitar, Ukulele, Bass
Jeff Oster – Trumpet, Flugelhorn

Jeff Haynes – Percussion
Tom Eaton – Guitar, Bass, Keyboards, Accordion
All Songs Written By:
Will Ackerman, Fiona Joy,
Lawrence Blatt & Jeff Oster

Mixed & Mastered by:
Tom Eaton

Produced by:
Will Ackerman & Tom Eaton

Recorded at:
Imaginary Road Studios,
Windham County, VT

Beth Hilton, The B Company:
 [email protected]

Similar posts
  • Suzanne Teng & Gilbert Levy | Au...“Autumn Monsoon” by Suzanne Teng and Gilbert Levy Album Review by Dyan Garris for New Age CD and Zone Music Reporter “‘Autumn Monsoon” is true medicine for the soul.’” – Dyan Garris “Autumn Monsoon,” the newest release from multiple award-winning husband and wife team, Suzanne Teng and Gilbert Levy, features 10 tracks of ethereal, instrumental [...]
  • Dan Chadburn – Love Themes for ...“Love Themes for Solo Piano” by Dan Chadburn Album review by Dyan Garris for New Age CD and Zone Music Reporter The music on “Love Themes for Solo Piano,” is distinctly, unmistakably Dan Chadburn, flowing and sweeping, while exuding rich textures and tender emotion from the heart. – Dyan Garris “Love Themes for Solo Piano” [...]
  • Monica Williams | Within Us All Album...“Within Us All” by Monica Williams Album Review by Dyan Garris for New Age CD  and Zone Music Reporter   “A brilliant, sparkling, soothing, sophomore album from Monica Williams.” – Dyan Garris “Within Us All” is the second album from flutist Monica Williams, following up on her award-winning album, “Journey of Tears.” The album features [...]
  • Gabriele Saro | Sensations Album Revi...“SensationS” by Gabriele Saro Album Review by Dyan Garris, New Age CD, Zone Music Reporter, and “Spirit Seeker Magazine” “SensationS” is the 4th album release from award-winning multi-instrumentalist, Gabriele Saro. Hailing originally from Italy, at the age of 6, Gabriele reproduced on the piano the melodies he heard on television. “SensationS” is 15 tracks of [...]
  • Joss Jaffe | Meditation Music Album R...“Meditation Music” by Joss Jaffe Album Review by Dyan Garris for New Age CD, Zone Music Reporter, and Spirit Seeker Magazine “Meditation Music” is deeply peaceful to the psyche on every level. Very effective for healing and coming back into alignment. – Dyan Garris Joss Jaffe is a vocalist, multi-instrumentalist, and record producer, with a [...]

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply




Dan Palladino | Pastoral Memory

Click the image to listen now


AUM 432 by Paradiso and Rasamayi In the Soft Light of Grace by David Nevue The Winds of Badlands by Jill Haley Cupid Blindfolded by Michael Whalen Open Waters by Todd Mosby Red Sky Prairie by Sharon Fendrich Lightness of Dark by Fiona Joy & Rebecca Daniel Promise by FLOW Voice of the Ancestors by Grayhawk Adrift in Wonder by Robert Linton Agape Evolution: The Movement by Paradiso & Rasamayi Grace from Persistence by Christopher James Quiet-Spaces-Cover-Art-Ann-Licater-1500x1500-300-dpi-JPEG-Final-9-27-18 Reach by Jeff Oster Liquid Mind XII Peace Beautiful You by Matthew Mayer Twilight Serenade by Peter Sterling Mystic's Nine by Dyan Garris Beyond Words by Dan Chadburn Sands of Time by Logical Drift Between Shadow and Light by Neil Patton

Music Video – IMA Award POP VOX Winner – New Age Song Category – “Mystic Sea”

Buying links below: Mystic's Nine album (and for the song Mystic Sea) available here:
  • Amazon
  • iTunes
  • Spotify
  • CDBaby
  • Bandcamp

  • Follow Dyan Garris here:
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram
  • Official Artist Site