From the Best New Age Artists

Peter Phippen, Ivar Lunde, Jr., and Tiit Raid – Seven – Album Review


61SUnxr7x7L._SS500Peter Phippen, Ivar Lunde, Jr., and Tiit Raid – Seven

Album review by Dyan Garris, New Age

The album “Seven” is a unique musical collaboration between Peter Phippen, Ivar Lunde, Jr., and Tiit Raid. If you’re attuned to having a deeply meditative, reflective, trance inducing, Zen musical experience, the album “Seven is definitely one for you.

“Seven” is forty-five minutes of total “Zen-Zen” in seven tracks.  It’s free-form, peaceful, and ambient, making very good use of some interesting and different instruments than one normally hears. It’s minimalistic, yet complex at the same time. And it’s guaranteed to put you into a whole different space than the one you’re in.

A Grammy® nominated flute artist, Peter, as of this writing, has recorded fifteen albums, been in seven compilations, and has appeared as a guest artist on twelve albums. On the album “Seven,” he plays the desert flute, shakuhachi, bamboo flute, bamboo fife, and quenacho. Ivar Lunde, Jr. appears here on piano, guzheng, and oboe da caccia. Tiit Raid contributes his artistry to the mix on berimbau, kannel, gongs, drum, thunder tube, chimes, and voice.

Part of what makes a really great artist a master in any genre is the ability to step out of their preconceived box and allow true artistry to flow. “Seven” is a bit out of the box, showcases engaging artistry between these three collaborators, and is delivered with grace, beauty, and improvisational panache. “Seven” is creative and captivating, ambient, and deeply meditative.

Here we have seven tracks, each titled “One” through “Seven.” The album opens, of course, with, “One,” which is just over seven minutes of deep relaxation, drawing us slowly and profoundly into the mood and back into connection with our soul. This track features desert flute, gongs, and guzheng, also known as the “Chinese zither,” which is an ancient, sixteen-string Chinese instrument.

“Two” features piano, shakuhachi, thunder tube, and chimes. This is a fascinating song with unusual sounds, leading one even deeper into the Zen experience.

The oboe de caccia and bamboo flute together on “Three,” create a reflective, haunting kind of tune. It’s likeable, and a personal favorite.  The Native American vibe on “Five” is brings us back into deeply meditative state after the more vibrant mood of “Four.”  “Six” is my ultimate favorite on the album. I found this deeply peaceful with the plaintive flute melody mixing well with the guzheng and soft gong sounds.  “Seven” is another composition that is soul-soothing and contemplative.  Gentle and ultra-relaxing it’s the perfect ending to this fascinating album.

Get “Seven” here:

Similar posts
  • Fiona Joy Hawkins & Rebecca Dani...“The Lightness of Dark” by Fiona Joy Hawkins & Rebecca Daniel: Featuring The Kanimbla Quartet Album review by Dyan Garris for New Age CD, Zone Music Reporter, and Spirit Seeker Magazine The album, “The Lightness of Dark,” is somewhat of a departure for composer/pianist/vocalist, Fiona Joy Hawkins, who is best known for her romantic, melodic [...]
  • Sharon Fendrich | Red Sky Prairie | A...Red Sky Prairie by Sharon Fendrich Album Review by Dyan Garris for Zone Music Reporter, New Age CD, and Spirit Seeker Magazine “The love and care that was put into “Red Sky Prairie” is evident in EVERY note. It literally pours out of this album and seeps deeply into our hearts like silken salve for [...]
  • Masako | Underwater Whisperer | Album...Underwater Whisperer by Masako Album Review by Dyan Garris for Zone Music Reporter and New Age CD The album, ‘Underwater Whisperer,’ by pianist Masako, is like a sparkling jewel one discovers at the seashore. A special treasure, this is simply beautiful.  – Dyan Garris What lies beneath in the mysterious depths of the Earth’s bodies [...]
  • David Wahler | Two Hearts | Album Rev...TWO HEARTS by David Wahler Album Review by Dyan Garris for New Age CD and Zone Music Reporter The heavenly, dreamy, “Two Hearts,” is a seamlessly flowing, crystalline river of love that will remain in your mind and heart long after the album ends. – Dyan Garris “Two Hearts” is the magical new album by [...]
  • Gerhard Daum | Songs Without Words | ...“Songs without Words” by Gerhard Daum | Jazz & New Classical Guitar Music Album Review by Dyan Garris for Zone Music Reporter and New Age CD Balm to the weary soul, “Songs Without Words” by Gerhard Daum, is a completely beautiful, memorable conversation, and one that you will not want to end. – Dyan Garris [...]

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply



Dan Palladino | Pastoral Memory

Click the image to listen now



Camille Nelson | Sacred Lullabies | Interview with Dyan Garris


AUM 432 by Paradiso and Rasamayi In the Soft Light of Grace by David Nevue The Winds of Badlands by Jill Haley Cupid Blindfolded by Michael Whalen Open Waters by Todd Mosby Red Sky Prairie by Sharon Fendrich uyjEmEHg-lightness-of-dark Lightness of Dark by Fiona Joy & Rebecca Daniel Voice of the Ancestors by Grayhawk Adrift in Wonder by Robert Linton Agape Evolution: The Movement by Paradiso & Rasamayi Grace from Persistence by Christopher James A Garden of Invited Flowers by Richard Bone Quiet-Spaces-Cover-Art-Ann-Licater-1500x1500-300-dpi-JPEG-Final-9-27-18 Eleon: Dreams Beyond Terra 61q6QIrWaXL._SS500_ Reach by Jeff Oster Liquid Mind XII Peace 614juUaaUcL._SS500_ Beautiful You by Matthew Mayer A New Dream by Lynn Tredeau Spectrum by Ryan Farish An Orphan's Dream by Anwaar Ali Twilight Serenade by Peter Sterling Mystic's Nine by Dyan Garris Soloelektronika by Everpresent Abendromen by Tom Eaton Dividing the Darkness by Steve Rivera Beyond Words by Dan Chadburn Zen & the Piano by Kourosh Dini Sands of Time by Logical Drift In the Midst of Stars by Majestica Scattering Stars by Michelle Qureshi Eterna by David W. Donner Between Shadow and Light by Neil Patton Keepsakes in the Attic by Jeff Bjorck Journey: A Steven Samler Project Follow the River Home by Jeff Pearce Safe in your Arms by Scott Cossu Dark Orchard – Blossom by Jim Casson


Music Video – IMA Award POP VOX Winner – New Age Song Category – “Mystic Sea”

Buying links below: Mystic's Nine album (and for the song Mystic Sea) available here:
  • Amazon
  • iTunes
  • Spotify
  • CDBaby
  • Bandcamp

  • Follow Dyan Garris here:
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram
  • Official Artist Site