From the Best New Age Artists

Stephen Wallack | Chapters | Album Review by Dyan Garris

CD cover for CHAPTERS by Stephen WallackCHAPTERS” by Stephen Wallack

Album Review by Dyan Garris for Zone Music Reporter and New Age CD

“Chapters” is the debut album for composer and solo pianist, Stephen Wallack. Stephen started playing piano when he was five years of age on the very same orange piano pictured on the album cover. He started composing his own music at the age of fourteen. All the compositions on “Chapters,” were composed and played by Stephen and recorded on a Steinway S Grand piano.

The album is a “journey;” the songs, like “chapters” from his life. But it’s not just his journey. The listener is able to connect with and identify their own “chapters” and make their own story come alive through the music.

“Chapters” is ten tracks and almost one hour of solo piano. However, this is not your typical New Age relaxation or meditation music.  This music is energetic and fast paced, passionate and vibrant throughout. His impressive keyboarding skills evident, the songs are played confidently and with conviction.

The album opens with the quite energetic “Virginia.”  This is almost seven minutes of well-executed exuberance. Following is the very pretty “Oceans,” which starts out a little quieter and then moves into painting us an expressive soundscape of how the ocean really is; sometimes gentle, sometimes more vigorous, but always immensely beautiful. Tempo changes within the song perfectly capture these movements of ebb and flow. Very nicely done.

“Cooper’s Song,” a tribute to a departed friend, also incorporates interesting and effective tempo changes. The song is passionate and heartfelt. “Trains” is a five-minute track which makes good use of both upper and lower registers of the piano. It’s balanced, melodic, and flowing. Very pretty, moving, it’s a favorite on this album.

“Dad” is a piece he wrote after his father passed away. This is quite emotional, as one might expect, soft and gentle and playful in places, grateful as well, and then more fervent, impassioned, and intense in others. You can really feel this song in right in your heart, even if you didn’t know what it is about.  Very powerful.

Capturing the energy of that metropolis perfectly, “Chicago” is brilliant. The tempo changes are perfectly employed and effective, as is the use of both upper and lower registers.  The city is alive even when it sleeps. We can hear it and feel it. There is a lot going on here. This is like its own vignette inside a larger vignette.

Fast-paced and energetic, with a catchy melody that conveys the excitement and anticipation we usually feel when embarking upon a journey, “The Traveler,” is another one to like. The pace gets slower toward the end as “the traveler” takes a little break from all the traveling. Very enjoyable and well-done.

photo of Stephen WallackThe extremely beautiful “Weddings” was written as music for Stephen’s wife to walk down the aisle at their wedding. What a loving tribute to love. It’s gorgeous. “Holiday” starts off with a kind of gentle anticipation and becomes even more engaging as it moves along, particularly toward the end. Passionate and heartfelt, it’s another emotionally stirring tune.

The album rounds out with the dynamic and booming, “Archer,” which is another tribute to a friend who has passed on. This is jam-packed full of life, perhaps much like Archer. Toward the middle-end, things quiet down considerably. But then the lower registers come to life, again, perhaps much like Archer. . .

“Chapters” is a bold, spirited, wildly passionate, emotionally stirring solo piano album. Well-composed and well-played, it left me breathless. We all look forward to hearing more from this talented artist. Bravo.

Get “Chapters” here:


Radio Promotion/Publicity:

The Creative Service Company

Randall Davis ([email protected]) & Ruthe Forbriger ([email protected]) 719-548-9872




Similar posts
  • Jill Haley | The Winds of Badlands | ...The Winds of Badlands by Jill Haley Album review by Dyan Garris for Zone Music Reporter and New Age CD ­­­­­­­­­­­­­­ Jill Haley has more than perfectly captured the timeless wonder of Badlands National Park with her brilliant album, “The Winds of Badlands.” Through her musical    mastery she paints us a breathtaking soundscape; a panoramic [...]
  • Louis Anthony deLise | Natural Light ...NATURAL LIGHT by Louis Anthony deLise Album review by Dyan Garris for Zone Music Reporter and NewAgeCD No doubt about it. Natural light is rich and diverse. It’s simple and complex at the same time. Unlike artificial light, natural light is comprised of all the colors of the rainbow and is “created” by a range [...]
  • Scott August | Beyond Summer | Album ...“BEYOND SUMMER” by Scott August Album Review by Dyan Garris for Zone Music Reporter & New Age CD One significant effect summer has on us is to make us feel alive.  It’s a fun time of year filled with scintillating feelings synonymous with freedom. How we would love to take these feelings with us far [...]
  • Christopher James | Grace From Persis...“Grace from Persistence”  by Christopher James Album Review by Dyan Garris for Zone Music Reporter and New Age CD “Grace from Persistence” is the third solo album from Christopher James (Christopher James Roberts), an American composer, producer, and ex-CEO of Universal Music Group’s Classical and Jazz division. That Christopher James has spent many years composing [...]
  • Paradiso & Rasamayi – Agap...“Agape Evolution: The Movement” by Paradiso & Rasamayi Album Review by Dyan Garris for Zone Music Reporter (ZMR) and Paradiso & Rasamayi Turturici are master sound healers and twin flame soul mates who have been making healing music together for many years and perhaps many lifetimes. Paradiso is a master didgeridoo artist who has [...]

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Featured Video | Paradiso and Rasamayi





AUM 432 by Paradiso and Rasamayi Voice of the Ancestors by Grayhawk Adrift in Wonder by Robert Linton Agape Evolution: The Movement by Paradiso & Rasamayi Grace from Persistence by Christopher James A Garden of Invited Flowers by Richard Bone Quiet-Spaces-Cover-Art-Ann-Licater-1500x1500-300-dpi-JPEG-Final-9-27-18 Eleon: Dreams Beyond Terra 61q6QIrWaXL._SS500_ Reach by Jeff Oster Liquid Mind XII Peace 614juUaaUcL._SS500_ Beautiful You by Matthew Mayer A New Dream by Lynn Tredeau Spectrum by Ryan Farish An Orphan's Dream by Anwaar Ali Twilight Serenade by Peter Sterling Mystic's Nine by Dyan Garris Soloelektronika by Everpresent Abendromen by Tom Eaton Dividing the Darkness by Steve Rivera Beyond Words by Dan Chadburn Zen & the Piano by Kourosh Dini Sands of Time by Logical Drift In the Midst of Stars by Majestica Scattering Stars by Michelle Qureshi Eterna by David W. Donner Between Shadow and Light by Neil Patton Keepsakes in the Attic by Jeff Bjorck Journey: A Steven Samler Project Follow the River Home by Jeff Pearce Safe in your Arms by Scott Cossu Dark Orchard – Blossom by Jim Casson


Adrift in Wonder


About Paradiso & Rasamayi – Our Featured Artists in May, 2019

Grace from Persistence by Christopher James

Cinematography and Direction by Cypress Jones. Co-directed by Keishawn Blackstone.


Chapters – The Debut Solo Piano CD by Stephen Wallack


Music Video – IMA Award POP VOX Winner – New Age Song Category – “Mystic Sea”

Buying links below: Mystic's Nine album (and for the song Mystic Sea) available here:
  • Amazon
  • iTunes
  • Spotify
  • CDBaby
  • Bandcamp

  • Follow Dyan Garris here:
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram
  • Official Artist Site