From the Best New Age Artists

Masako | Underwater Whisperer | Album Review by Dyan Garris

UW-jacket masako highresUnderwater Whisperer by Masako

Album Review by Dyan Garris for Zone Music Reporter and New Age CD

The album, ‘Underwater Whisperer,’ by pianist Masako, is like a sparkling jewel one discovers at the seashore. A special treasure, this is simply beautiful.  – Dyan Garris

What lies beneath in the mysterious depths of the Earth’s bodies of water? Here in the fourth album from award-winning pianist, Masako, we get a spectacular glimpse of these mysteries. Produced by Will Ackerman with sound engineering by Tom Eaton, Masako is joined on “Underwater Whisperer” by a host of impressive guest talent, including, Eugene Friesen, Premik Russell Tubbs, Jeff Pearce, Jeff Haynes, and Noah Wilding.

“Three Talkative Brooks in Spring Meadow” is a lovely and perfect opener to this album.  This is nice piano solo – one of four on this album – and here we can hear three different streams conversing in their own special flow and harmony.  

Gorgeous, flowing, dreamy piano on “Sea Pearls,” and the addition of Eugene Friesen on masterfully performed cello, with Premik Russell Tubbs on alto flute, gives incredible depth and richness to the mix.  It’s a favorite.

“The Deep,” featuring Masako on synthesizer, is enhanced pulchritude with Jeff Pearce on the Chapman Stick, and the ethereal, other-worldly vocals of Noah Wilding. This is soothing and hauntingly beautiful.

The second solo piano piece is “Coral Reef Blues.”  This is tantalizing and emotionally evocative. We can literally feel the anguished lament of the coral of the sea, which is a living entity, as we know. Listen carefully, then, as the song, very well composed and played, is quite alive as well.

“Legend of the Emerald Forest” is outstanding; utterly outstanding in every way. You may be wondering what a forest has to do with what is being whispered by the spirits of water.  I believe this song is based upon the movie, “The Emerald Forest,” which was based upon a true story. To briefly summarize, a dam was built by outsiders in a rainforest. The indigenous people did not want it, destroyed it, and afterward went back to being happy with the water the way it was previously. Water is life and water is sacred.  Here, Masako gives a stellar piano performance blending wonderfully with Premik Russell Tubbs on wind synthesizer. Noah Wilding is here with those haunting vocals, along with Jeff Pearce on the Chapman Stick, and the rich cello by Eugene Friesen, plus shimmery percussion by Jeff Haynes.  The mix by Tom Eaton is true perfection. 

“Monologue,” the third piano solo on the album, is up next. This is perfectly lovely as well.  “Salmon Run” masterfully captures the spirit of running salmon in this lively, yet soothing tune. Masako is on piano, while Jeff Haynes adds ideal percussion, and we have Tom Eaton on bass.  Premik Russell Tubbs is featured on the wind synth, and we are treated to the lovely wordless vocals of Noah Wilding again.

Deep and darker, “Moonlit Iceberg and its Whereabouts” features Masako on piano, Eugene Friesen on cello, and Premik Russell Tubbs on wind synth. This is beautiful, graceful, flowing, and contemplative.

Opening with the cello and lightened by Masako’s piano performance, the title track, “Underwater Whisperer,” is very deep. One can almost hear the ethereal, whispered, conversations of whales, and perhaps dolphins, speaking their own special language. The track also features Tom Eaton on bass, Eugene Friesen on cello, Jeff Haynes on percussion, along with Jeff Pearce on the Chapman Stick. Excellent.

The fourth piano solo is “Dim Light.” Effortless, calming, and peaceful to the soul, this is beautiful from beginning to end. The tranquil “Time Indefinite” perfectly closes out the album, with Eugene Friesen’s breathtakingly beautiful cello performance, and Premik Russell Tubbs on wind synth, both blending wonderfully with Masako’s gorgeous piano performance. Superb, all.

Get “Underwater Whisperer” here or wherever music is sold/streamed:

Broadcast & Media Promotion
LAZZ Promotions
Ed & Stacey Bonk
Phone: 905-470-1230
Email: [email protected]

Similar posts
  • Fiona Joy Hawkins & Rebecca Dani...“The Lightness of Dark” by Fiona Joy Hawkins & Rebecca Daniel: Featuring The Kanimbla Quartet Album review by Dyan Garris for New Age CD, Zone Music Reporter, and Spirit Seeker Magazine The album, “The Lightness of Dark,” is somewhat of a departure for composer/pianist/vocalist, Fiona Joy Hawkins, who is best known for her romantic, melodic [...]
  • Sharon Fendrich | Red Sky Prairie | A...Red Sky Prairie by Sharon Fendrich Album Review by Dyan Garris for Zone Music Reporter, New Age CD, and Spirit Seeker Magazine “The love and care that was put into “Red Sky Prairie” is evident in EVERY note. It literally pours out of this album and seeps deeply into our hearts like silken salve for [...]
  • David Wahler | Two Hearts | Album Rev...TWO HEARTS by David Wahler Album Review by Dyan Garris for New Age CD and Zone Music Reporter The heavenly, dreamy, “Two Hearts,” is a seamlessly flowing, crystalline river of love that will remain in your mind and heart long after the album ends. – Dyan Garris “Two Hearts” is the magical new album by [...]
  • Gerhard Daum | Songs Without Words | ...“Songs without Words” by Gerhard Daum | Jazz & New Classical Guitar Music Album Review by Dyan Garris for Zone Music Reporter and New Age CD Balm to the weary soul, “Songs Without Words” by Gerhard Daum, is a completely beautiful, memorable conversation, and one that you will not want to end. – Dyan Garris [...]
  • Christopher Boscole | Dawn of Love | ...Christopher Boscole: “Dawn of Love” Album Review by Dyan Garris for New Age CD and Zone Music Reporter “Love has many facets and depths. So it is with Christopher Boscole’s new album, “Dawn of Love,” which is perfectly enchanting like the first light of love itself. This is excellent solo piano for all lovers of [...]

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply



Dan Palladino | Pastoral Memory

Click the image to listen now



Camille Nelson | Sacred Lullabies | Interview with Dyan Garris


AUM 432 by Paradiso and Rasamayi In the Soft Light of Grace by David Nevue The Winds of Badlands by Jill Haley Cupid Blindfolded by Michael Whalen Open Waters by Todd Mosby Red Sky Prairie by Sharon Fendrich uyjEmEHg-lightness-of-dark Lightness of Dark by Fiona Joy & Rebecca Daniel Voice of the Ancestors by Grayhawk Adrift in Wonder by Robert Linton Agape Evolution: The Movement by Paradiso & Rasamayi Grace from Persistence by Christopher James A Garden of Invited Flowers by Richard Bone Quiet-Spaces-Cover-Art-Ann-Licater-1500x1500-300-dpi-JPEG-Final-9-27-18 Eleon: Dreams Beyond Terra 61q6QIrWaXL._SS500_ Reach by Jeff Oster Liquid Mind XII Peace 614juUaaUcL._SS500_ Beautiful You by Matthew Mayer A New Dream by Lynn Tredeau Spectrum by Ryan Farish An Orphan's Dream by Anwaar Ali Twilight Serenade by Peter Sterling Mystic's Nine by Dyan Garris Soloelektronika by Everpresent Abendromen by Tom Eaton Dividing the Darkness by Steve Rivera Beyond Words by Dan Chadburn Zen & the Piano by Kourosh Dini Sands of Time by Logical Drift In the Midst of Stars by Majestica Scattering Stars by Michelle Qureshi Eterna by David W. Donner Between Shadow and Light by Neil Patton Keepsakes in the Attic by Jeff Bjorck Journey: A Steven Samler Project Follow the River Home by Jeff Pearce Safe in your Arms by Scott Cossu Dark Orchard – Blossom by Jim Casson


Music Video – IMA Award POP VOX Winner – New Age Song Category – “Mystic Sea”

Buying links below: Mystic's Nine album (and for the song Mystic Sea) available here:
  • Amazon
  • iTunes
  • Spotify
  • CDBaby
  • Bandcamp

  • Follow Dyan Garris here:
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram
  • Official Artist Site